A vendor in BuildingConnected is someone who has limited access to a bid. When a subcontractor forwards an invitation to bid to another company, a supplier, or a vendor, the recipient will appear as a vendor for that subcontractor.
Understanding vendors and how to ensure that you are set up correctly is important to guarantee that you have all the right access to the information within your BuildingConnected account.
What information can vendors access?
Vendors can view:
- Bid information (project name, bid due date, client details, bid status)
- Followers that work for the company that owns the bid
- Any followers that work at the vendor's own company
- Project files
Vendors cannot view:
- The bid form or submit a bid
- Vendors that work at other companies
- Internal information (comments, tracking information, files uploaded under the "Internal Files" section)
How do I know if I’m a vendor on a bid?
There are several ways to determine if you are a vendor on a bid. If you open a bid and encounter a “Restricted View” message, then you are a vendor for that bid. Additionally, your name will be listed under the “Vendors” section on the right.
Why can’t I change the status of a bid?
Vendors cannot change the status of a bid. The status is set by the company that owns the original invite. However, the bid will still be listed on your Bid Board.
Can I invite other employees from my company to this bid?
Yes, however, anyone you invite will also appear on the bid as a vendor.
I am listed as a vendor but should have full access to a bid. What can I do?
If you should have full access to a bid, you must first be removed as a vendor. Start by navigating to the “Vendor” section on the right side of the bid's "Overview" tab.
Click the drop-down arrow next to your name and select “Remove.”
Once you have been removed as a vendor, reach out to the general contractor and request that they invite you directly to the project. You will have full access after receiving an invitation to bid from the general contractor.