This article will explain all you need to know about vendors in BuildingConnected. It covers:
- The definition of a vendor.
- The information a vendor has access to.
- Steps to take if a subcontractor you invite to a project incorrectly has vendor access.
Understanding vendors and their role in BuildingConnected will help ensure that subcontractors you work with are granted the appropriate access to your projects’ details.
A vendor is someone that your subcontractor wants to share project information with. These can be suppliers they use or even sub-tier subcontractors. Vendors have restricted access to your project. They can view project information and project files, but cannot submit a bid, view messages, view the bid form, or any of your subcontractors' internal tracking information.
When a vendor attempts to access the "Messages," "Bid Form," or "Tracking" tabs they see the following:
Is a vendor different than a follower?
Yes, followers are employees of companies that the general contractor invited to the project. Any follower can add a colleague to a project as a follower so that the colleague has full access to files, messages, and bid forms.
How do I know if a vendor has been added to a project?
You can identify vendors by clicking into a bid package and selecting a bidder group. On the right side of the page, you will see a “Vendors” section listed below “Invitees.” To remove a vendor, click on the “x” next to their name (under “Actions”).
I invited a subcontractor to a project but they are showing up as a vendor? What can I do?
First, the subcontractor should remove themselves as a vendor from that opportunity. Once removed, re-invite the subcontractor to the project. The subcontractor should access the project details from the invite they receive to ensure they have the appropriate access.
If you have any questions regarding vendors in BuildingConnected, please contact us at email@example.com. We’re happy to help!