It is important that only members of your company can access your company's information. BuildingConnected has built in measures in place to ensure that only the individuals who should have access to your company’s information can join your company’s account. These measures are important in instances where a subcontractor mistakenly attempts to join your company profile instead of joining or creating their own.
This article explains what these measures are and the steps to take if someone mistakenly joins your company profile in BuildingConnected.
How does BuildingConnected know whether or not someone works for my company?
BuildingConnected identifies company members through the domain of the email address used to create an account. When a user with a domain different than the domain of your company attempts to join your company’s profile, the office lead is immediately alerted.
How is the office lead alerted?
The office lead will receive an email asking them to confirm whether or not the person requesting access can join your company profile.
If the requestor is not a member of your company and should not have access, click on “No.” This will immediately render their account inactive in BuildingConnected, blocking their access to your company’s information.
If an actual colleague signed up for a BuildingConnected account but used a personal email instead of their company email address, you should click “Yes.” This will grant your coworker access and they can then go to their Account Settings to update their email address.
For instructions on how to designate an Office Lead please reference the article, "What are office 'Leads' and how to designate them."
I received the email to confirm the requestor’s employment and clicked on “No.” Why is their name listed in the “Employees” page?
Although you see the requestor’s name listed in the “Employees” section of your company, they are not able to view any of your company’s Project, Qualifications, Contacts, Bid History or Analytics information.
BuildingConnected does not automatically remove users when “No” is selected from the confirmation email that is sent to the office lead. This happens so that the requestor can be given access in case they are an actual member of your company who did not sign up with their company email address.
Do they have access to any information?
The only information the requestor is able to view is the company employees list. However, they are not able to edit or update any of the information on this page.
The screenshot below shows what the requestor whose employment was not confirmed sees in the “Employees” section.
Additionally, the requestor will encounter the following message when they click on the Project, Qualifications, Contacts, Bid History and Analytics tabs from the menu on the left.
How do I transfer the requestor’s account to the correct company profile?
Please reach out to BuildingConnected Support so that our Support team can transfer the requestor to the correct company profile in BuildingConnected. Our team will also reach out to the user to let them know that they joined the incorrect company and to provide instructions on how to properly set up their BuildingConnected account.
Article is closed for comments.