If you are a subcontractor who has been invited to bid on a project but you are unable to access messages, bid forms, or tracking, you may have been added as a vendor.
To determine if you have been added as a vendor
A vendor is someone with a restricted view, as shown in the screenshot below. This typically occurs if an invite is forwarded to you via email instead of being sent to you directly.
If you have been added as a vendor, you will also notice your name listed under the “Vendors” section on the right-hand side of the opportunity “Overview” tab.
For more information on what a vendor is and how you may have been added as a vendor, please reference the article “Vendor information for subcontractors.”
If you were mistakenly added as a vendor and should have full access to an opportunity, you can remove yourself as a vendor then request that the general contractor re-invite you to the opportunity.
To remove yourself as a vendor
Begin by clicking on the opportunity you have been added as a vendor to.
Locate the general contractor’s contact information in the “Client” section and copy the general contractor’s email address into a separate email. It is important to complete this step prior to removing yourself as a vendor because once you remove yourself as a vendor you will be removed from the opportunity.
If you remove yourself as a vendor prior to copying the general contractor’s email address, you can still find their contact information in the initial invitation email you received. For detailed steps on how to do so, please reference the article, “How to find a general contractor’s contact information.”
Once you have the general contractor’s email address copied to an email, click the drop-down arrow to the right of your name in the “Vendors” section.
Clicking remove will remove you from the opportunity. From here, you can email the general contractor to request that they re-invite you to the opportunity directly via email.
Once the general contractor re-invites you to the opportunity, the opportunity will reappear on your “Undecided” tab on your Bid Board. You can now change the status of your bid as necessary and view messages, bid forms, and tracking information.
If you have further questions about what to do if you cannot access a bid invite, please contact BuildingConnected Support.