BuildingConnected allows BC Pro subscribers to privately assign preferred subcontractor companies for their office. This feature is a great way to ensure that your preferred subcontractors are always highlighted at the top of your search results if they match your project criteria.
When these companies are at the top, you can manually add them or if you use the slider feature to add bidders to your bid package, these preferred bidders will be the first bidders to be added to your bidder list.
Please note that only members of the project’s office can see preferred companies. Additionally, preferred companies are not visible in the BuildingConnected network.
To prefer a company for a trade
Start from the bid package under which you’d like to add a preferred company. Click on "Add Bidders" or “Invite Bidders.”
Find the company you want to prefer from the list or search for them in the search bar. Click "Prefer".
Note: Subcontractors are not notified when they are designated as a preferred company. Also, subcontractors cannot see that they have been designated as a preferred company.
Moving forward, this preferred company will appear at the top of the list of results for the specified trade each time they match your search criteria.
To prefer a company for multiple trades
When you click to prefer a company in your bid package, you are choosing to prefer them for the work performed currently selected. You can also prefer them for multiple trades that they perform.
Click "Preferred" on an existing preferred contact.
All the work performed keywords on this company's profile will be listed, as well as any other trades you have already preferred them for. Click to add any the trades and click "Update".
For example, Bob's Demolition may not have "Abatement" listed on their own profile, but your company marked them preferred for "Abatement" previously so it appears in the list. You can add or remove trades they are preferred for.
To remove a preferred company
Navigate to the search results window and find the company you wish to remove. Click on the “Preferred” button.
Next, deselect the appropriate scopes.
Click on “Update.”
The “Preferred” tag will be immediately removed from the company.
As a reminder, only members of the project’s office can see preferred companies. Additionally, preferred companies are not visible in the BuildingConnected network.